Alright, me and my girlfriend noticed a thing about the song Going Invisible 2 by The Mountain Goats that's been blowing my mind and I gotta share it somewhere. Warning that this is fully gonna sound like I have a tinfoil hat on, but bear with me.

So, when John Darnielle writes "I'm gonna blow the whole circus apart"? It's pretty much literal. Look at the letters in "circus", especially the consonants: a soft C sound (S), a hard C sound (K) and an R sound.

Now, look at the verses:

Verse 1. goes: "Look in the Cellar where the Cinders blaze, Sift through the Shadows for days", lots of alliteration on the soft C sound.

Verse 2. goes: "Count up the Keepsakes in the Cabinets, the Keyboards and the Chemistry sets". This is alliteration with the hard K sound.

In verse 3. the pattern kinda peters out a little, but there's the line "Reckon the Remnants when they land at last", alliteration on R.

So, he did it, the madman did it. He blew the word "circus" apart and hid the letters in the alliteration pattern in the song. And I'm pretty sure this was intentional, dude has been writing poetry as a job for at least 30 years at this point, it figures he'd be pretty good at it by now!