I have invented additional sins. We're up to 13 now.

For context: I was toying with a system for character creation that combines my three favorite tricks for quickly coming up with a core theme to build a character around: pick between fight, flight, fright, freeze or fawn as their go-to trauma response, pick a dominating emotion from the basic emotions and give them a vice from the seven deadly sins, but I was noticing a lot of overlap between them (like, anger is a basic emotion, but wrath is a sin, and "fight" at least imply anger), so I figured that I could make one list that combined all three lists into one still pretty manageable list, and just for a lark I themed the list after sins.

It's surprisingly easy to rephrase just about any aspect of the human condition into something you could imagine a sufficiently fuddy-duddy religious guy would claim is a sin.

I'm debating whether I should keep the list for myself to put in one of my RPGs, but since I couldn't copyright, y'know, the human condition and it might be useful to writers and roleplayers, I'll prolly just post it.

The 13 deadly sins:

(actually more like character hooks, you pick one or two to serve as inspiration for a character)

1. disgust Inspired by one of Paul Ekman's basic emotions.

2. fear Inspired by one of Paul Ekman's basic emotions.

3. mania Inspired by one of Paul Ekman's basic emotions.

4. angst Inspired by one of Paul Ekman's basic emotions.

5. fawning Inspired by a common trauma response.

6. avoidance Inspired by a common trauma response.

7. pride Inspired by the original seven deadly sins

8. greed Inspired by the original seven deadly sins

9. wrath Inspired by the original seven deadly sins, also overlap with one of Paul Ekman's basic emotions.

10. envy Inspired by the original seven deadly sins.

11. lust Inspired by the original seven deadly sins.

12. gluttony Inspired by the original seven deadly sins.

13. sloth Inspired by the original seven deadly sins.